Amazon

Readers' Favorite

November 5, 2020

3 Books for Fans of Romance Novels

by Susan Roberts


I don't usually read a lot of books in the romance genre but things have been so stressful lately that I decided it was time to read some light fluffy books with happily ever after endings.  Here are the three that I enjoyed the most all written by Michelle Major.
Amazon affiliate links are used on this site. Free books were provided for an honest review.

His Last-Chance Christmas Family by Michelle Major

His Last-Chance Christmas Family
December 2020; Harlequin; 978-1335894960
ebook, print (288 pages); holiday romance
Brynn returned home to Starlight after her husband died in a car accident with his girlfriend.  Brynn knew that she was in a bad marriage but tried to stay positive for her son.  The first person she runs into when she arrives in town is the new police chief who was also a best friend to her husband and her best friend growing up.  He tries to help Brynn but she wants to do things for herself after all she's been through.  The sparks start to fly between them but will they both be able to forget the past and move on into the future together?  I enjoyed both main characters plus the fact that Brynn had learned to stand up for herself.
 
Note:  This is Book 3 of 4: Welcome to Starlight series but can be read as a standalone.
 

The Magnolia Sisters by Michelle Major

The Magnolia Sisters
March 2020; HQN; 978-1335013286
audio, ebook, print (336 pages); southern fiction
Magnolia is a small town in NC.  When the famous local artist dies, his daughter, Carrie,  is shocked to find out that he also had two illegitimate daughters who were included in the will.  Meredith had grown up in Magnolia and went to school with Carrie but had no idea that they had the same father.  Avery travels from California for the reading of the will and is also shocked to find out that she has two half-sisters.  Her plan was to find out what was left to her, sell it, and go back home.  When the will is read, it turns out that the father had left his estate deep in debt and as the three sisters work together to settle the estate, they begin to start liking each other.

This book is Avery's story.  She didn't tell anyone but she'd left California after being fired from a job due to an affair with her boss.  She pretty much isn't interested in men at all anymore until she meets her new neighbor, Grayson - a good-looking firefighter with a small daughter.  The more time they spend together, the more their feelings for each other start to grow.  They both know that Avery is leaving soon but will there be changes in their plans so that they can get their happily ever ending?

I enjoyed this book -- I liked the interplay between the sisters as they get to know each other and I liked the relationship between Avery and Grayson as well as the way  Avery treated Grayson's daughter Violet who is really a feisty 5-year-old and one of the funny characters in the novel. 

This is going to be a great series about small-town romance.  

Buy The Magnolia Sisters at Amazon

The Merriest Magnolia by Michelle Major

The Merriest Magnolia
October 2020; HQN; 978-1335015006
audio, ebook, print (352 pages); holiday romance
The Merriest Magnolia
 is book 2 in the Magnolia Sisters series and is Carrie's story.  Carrie is the sister who stayed at home and took care of her father.  She had planned to go to art school but her father convinced her that she had no talent and would be an embarrassment to him so she managed the gallery and stayed home.  She was shocked when she found out that she had two half-sisters who would share her father's estate.  The estate was deeply in debt and the three sisters had to work together which helped to make them friends.

Carrie loves Magnolia and wants it to be a successful small town.  All of a sudden a 'bad boy' from high school shows up - he's now rich and wants to turn Magnolia into a modern updated town totally different from the small-town friendliness that Carrie wants.  Carrie and Dylan had been in love in high school.  Will their different views of the future of the town keep them apart or will they be able to find their happily ever after and help the town be successful?

This book lacked some of the fun of the first book in the series but it was still an enjoyable romance and a great look at life in a small town.

Buy The Merriest Magnolia at Amazon

Susan Roberts lives in North Carolina with her husband of over 50 years.  She grew up in Michigan but now calls North Carolina home. Since her travel plans had to be canceled for this year, she is starting to make plans for travel in 2021. She reads almost anything (and the piles of books in her house prove that) but her favorite genres are Southern fiction, women's fiction, and historical fiction. Susan is a top 1% Goodreads Reviewer. You can connect with Susan on FacebookGoodreads, or Twitter.

Get even more book news in your inbox, sign up today! Girl Who Reads is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small commission is earned when purchases are made at Amazon using any Amazon links on this site. Thank you for supporting Girl Who Reads.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Shareahollic

Amazon Studio

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...