Amazon

Readers' Favorite

March 1, 2020

Ghosts of the Missing by Kathleen Donohoe ~ a Review

by Susan Roberts


In the vein of The Lovely Bones and The Little Friend, Ghosts of the Missing follows the mysterious disappearance of a twelve-year-old girl during a town parade and the reverberations of this tragedy throughout the town.

Amazon affiliate links are used on this site. A free book was provided for an honest review.

February 2020; Mariner Books; 978-0544557178
audio, ebook, print (320 pages); mystery
On Saturday, October 28, 1995, a girl vanished.  She was not a child particularly prized in town...When questioned by reporters, those who’d known Rowan described her as ‘quiet’ and ‘loner’ and ‘shy’ and even ‘awkward.’ Words for pity.

Culleton, New York has a long history—of writers, of artists, and of unsolved mysteries. It’s where Adair grew up before she moved to Brooklyn to try to make it as an artist. But after years away from her hometown and little to show for it, Adair decides to return. She moves back into Moye House, the old mansion, and current writer’s retreat, imbued with her family's legacy.

Ciaran is a writer staying at Moye House in the hopes of finally solving the mystery of what happened to Rowan Kinnane—his sister, and Adair’s childhood best friend. As the two begin investigating, secrets long buried rise to the surface, complicating their sense of themselves and their understanding of what happened on that fateful day.

My Opinion:  I don't like books with a supernatural theme so I had a tough time reading this book.  If you do enjoy supernatural themes, this would be a great book for you.  It's interesting and well written and the reviews on it are very good.  It's a book about secrets, family drama, tragedy and illness, and a curse.  The book takes us into a haunting world of secrets and obsessions and shows just how far people will go in search of the truth.


Buy Ghosts of the Missing at Amazon


Susan Roberts lives in North Carolina when she isn't traveling. She and her husband enjoy traveling, gardening and spending time with their family and friends. She reads almost anything (and the piles of books in her house prove that) but her favorite genres are Southern fiction, women's fiction, and thrillers. Susan is a top 1% Goodreads Reviewer. You can connect with Susan on FacebookGoodreads, or Twitter.



Get even more book news in your inbox, sign up today! Girl Who Reads is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small commission is earned when purchases are made at Amazon using any Amazon links on this site. Thank you for supporting Girl Who Reads.

1 comments:

  1. I didn't think I would like a supernatural theme because I don't really care for fantasy, but as it turns out... I'm kind of a fan. I think I need to read this since it seems to be a mix of some of my favorites. Thank you for being on this tour! Sara @ TLC Book Tours

    ReplyDelete

Shareahollic

Amazon Studio

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...