Amazon

Readers' Favorite

May 11, 2020

5 Fantasy Series to Binge Read

by Donna Huber



You've been home for 8 weeks or so, the regular television season has basically wrapped up, and you've watched binge-watched all the Amazon and Netflix originals in a matter of days. So what are you going to do to keep you entertained? Pick up one of these fantasy series that are totally worth binge-reading even if you have read them before. Another awesome thing about these series - it is possible for you to read 3 of them for FREE!

Amazon affiliate links are used on this site.


Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling


Okay, what binge-reading fantasy series list would be complete without including Harry Potter? It has the added bonus of being comfort reading during this crazy pandemic time. Audible Stories for kids is offering Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone read by Stephen Fry for free. I just listened to it last week and it was just as magical as it was the first time I read it. I've already put a hold on Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets at my digital library. I'm 12th in line so it might be a while before I get to complete this binge read. I own the books and if I can get caught up on my ARCs for the month I might read them instead of listening to them. If you are an Amazon Prime member you can read the ebooks for FREE!

Buy the books at Amazon:

Harry Potter the Sorcerer's Stone
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

The Gateway Chronicles by K.B. Hoyle

I love this series. It is a blend of Chronicles of Narnia and Harry Potter with 6 friends who discover a magical world while at summer camp. Like the Harry Potter series, this is a great series to binge read with the whole family. Hoyle has been reading and discussing each chapter from the first book The Six on her Facebook page. I wish my digital library offered the audiobooks because until I get caught up on my ARCs I'm not allowing myself to re-read books. A few years ago I did a binge read of the series and it was so fun to read it straight through without having to wait a year for each book. If you are a Kindle Unlimited subscriber you can read the ebooks for FREE!

Buy the books at Amazon:

The Six
The Oracle
The White Thread
The Enchanted
The Scroll
The Bone Whistle


The Windstorm Trilogy by Katie Robison


This is a fantastic young adult series, kind of in the vein of Hunger Games and The Divergent series. I've only read the series once and I wasn't able to read the previous book before the next one came out so there were a lot of details I forgot. I was sent the ARCs for my Nook so I might have to see if I can find the files on my old laptop as it would be a great series to fully immerse myself in. If you want a fast-paces adventure then this is the series to read.

Buy the books at Amazon:

Downburst
Coiled Snake
Firestorm

The Blackwood Saga by Layton Green

Green is such a talented writer that he got me to fully enjoy an epic fantasy series that often felt like a video game. There are four books in this series and you will be glad that you can read straight through as each book ends on a bit of a cliff hanger with the characters usually in mortal peril. A bonus for those with Kindle Unlimited as you can read the ebooks for FREE!

Buy the books at Amazon:

The Brothers Three
The Spirit Mage
The Last Cleric
Return of the Last Paladin


All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness

I wasn't sure if I would ever read another vampire book after I read Twilight. But I was going through a bit of a witch phase when A Discovery of Witches came out and I'm so glad I picked up this series. I've wanted to re-read this series for a while now and I just discovered that the audiobooks are available through my digital library so I will listen to it while I wait for my Harry Potter hold to come in. I love the blend of history and science in this series and the love story is really beautiful even for someone like me who doesn't like to read romances. Harkness has started branching out with books about some of the minor characters so once you have binged read your way through the trilogy be sure to pick up Time's Convert.

Buy the books at Amazon:

A Discovery of Witches
Shadow of Night
The Book of Life
Time's Convert


What series do you think are binge-worthy?


Donna Huber is an avid reader and natural encourager. She is the founder of Girl Who Reads and the author of how-to marketing book Secrets to a Successful Blog Tour.

Get even more book news in your inbox, sign up today! Girl Who Reads is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small commission is earned when purchases are made at Amazon using any Amazon links on this site. Thank you for supporting Girl Who Reads.

1 comments:

  1. i have KU for a couple of months and am binge reading series, so i'll be checking out a couple of them. thanks for sharing
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete

Shareahollic

Amazon Studio

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...