Readers' Favorite

Featured Post

Reflections on the #AtoZChallenge

by Donna Huber For the A to Z Challenge, I discussed different book genres/categories. Each day, I gave a few details about the genre/catego...

June 13, 2021

The Ming Storm by Yan Leisheng ~ a Review

by MK French

In sixteenth-century China, the Assassins are gone. Zhang Yong, the leader of the Eight Tigers, eliminated all rivals, allowing the Templars to hold all the power. Shao Jun, the only survivor, vows revenge and travels to Europe to train with the legendary Ezio Auditore. When she returns, she must find allies to defeat the Eight Tigers.

Amazon affiliate links are used on this site. A free book was provided for an honest review.

The Ming Storm
June 2021; Aconyte; 978-1839080883
ebook, print (368 pages); Asian myth
The Ming Storm
 is an original Assassin’s Creed novel, not just a novelization of one of the many games. Shao Jun's journey in this novel is the start of a trilogy. As with all Assassin’s Creed games, there is intense action in the midst of far-flung locales. This one takes place in China, and every once in a while footnotes explain some aspects about the time period that the average reader wouldn't know. Ezio is mentioned often, as he trained Shao Jun, but he doesn't make an appearance. The Eight Tigers group would be Templars, preferring conformity as a means to stability, and the Brotherhood Shao Jun wants to rebuild are the Assassins we know. The remaining Eight Tigers members hope to take out Shao Jun and find the scroll that the late emperor had given Shao Jun. They believe it holds clues to a mystic item; fans of the franchise will realize that they're all searching for Pieces of Eden, even if it's not mentioned by name.

Much of the fighting described in this novel involves philosophy, acupuncture points, and mystic techniques that manipulate internal energy and organs. In other words, if you enjoy C dramas and the like, you'll adore this. Prior knowledge of the Assassin's Creed games or novels isn't even necessary. This is a story of revenge amidst the political backdrop of Ming Empire China, so it follows those plot points. Shao Jun has to defend the honor of the Brotherhood and avenge the deaths of all known members; she and her mentor are the only survivors. Zhang Yong is highly placed in the current government and isn't opposed to sacrificing his followers to achieve his aim. Being the start of a trilogy, we find out what his true aims were near the end, and the climactic battle isn't the end of the story. The next two novels are bound to be just as good as this one.

Buy The Ming Storm at Amazon

Born and raised in New York City, M.K. French started writing stories when very young, dreaming of different worlds and places to visit. She always had an interest in folklore, fairy tales, and the macabre, which has definitely influenced her work. She currently lives in the Midwest with her husband, three young children, and a golden retriever.

Get even more book news in your inbox, sign up today! Girl Who Reads is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small commission is earned when purchases are made at Amazon using any Amazon links on this site. Thank you for supporting Girl Who Reads.


  1. Good to know. I think any title with the words:Assassin Creed is sure to sell books fast.