Readers' Favorite

Featured Post

Reflections on the #AtoZChallenge

by Donna Huber For the A to Z Challenge, I discussed different book genres/categories. Each day, I gave a few details about the genre/catego...

December 20, 2022

A Must Read Series for Fans of Espionage Thrillers

by Donna Huber


Are you looking for a series that will have your heart racing, a series that you can't put down? The Red Hotel series by Gary Grossman and Ed Fuller is just the series for you. 

Amazon Affiliate links are used on this site. Free books were provided for an honest review.


Red Deception by Gary Grossman and Ed Fuller

book cover of spy thriller Red Deception by Gary Grossman and Ed Fuller
June 2021; Beaufort Books; 978-0825309465
audio, ebook, print (532 pages); spy thriller

Red Deception
 is book 2 in the Red Hotel series. It follows shortly after the events in book 1 Red Hotel. I read Red Hotel back in 2019 and loved it (read my review). However, I have forgotten many of the details but that was okay as what I needed to know was mentioned in Red Deception.

This is my favorite book in the series. I couldn't put it down. I loved everything about it. In my review of book 1 I mentioned that I hadn't read a spy thriller this good since Tom Clancy stopped writing the Jack Ryan series. It is still true for book 2. The wink to Jack Ryan in book 2 was a fun touch.

A hotel executive seems the odd choice for the protagonist in a spy thriller. You have to wonder if it isn't a cover - something the characters are starting to wonder as well.

I think part of the reason that I was so drawn into this novel is because of the plot thread of Russia invading Ukraine. Red Deception was published in July of 2021 - months before the actual invasion of Ukraaine. But I do wonder if some of the issues surrounding the fictional invasion aren't the same for the real invasion.

I hate that this book got buried in my TBR but I'm glad that I picked it up while I'm on vacation. It was hard to put down. I kept bargaining with myself - wash a sink full of dishes and then read for 30 minutes.

Dan Reilly is a great main character. He is instantly likable. He has a lot of the same qualities of Jack, Sr in Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan series. While he does have intelligence training after serving in Army Intelligence and then the stat department. Yet, he knows when he is out of his area of expertise and pulls in experts to help him fill the gaps.

If you are looking for a totally engrossing story that harkens back to the spies of the Cold War, then you not to read this book. You can get the ebook for just 99 cents right now. Now that is one heck of a deal that you just can't pass up.

Buy Red Deception at Amazon

Red Chaos by Gary Grossman and Ed Fuller

book cover of spy thriller Red Chaos by Gary Grossman and Ed Fuller
February 2023; Beaufort Books; 978-0825309878
audio, ebook, print (476 pages); spy thriller

Red Chaos
 picks up just weeks after the events in Red Deception. While those events are referenced I don't think you have to have read book 2 to enjoy this one. 

It isn't quite as gripping as book 2 but it is still well worth the read. And I had trouble putting it down to do other things on my to do list. 

In this book, more characters question who exactly is Dan Reilly. Is he just a guy who is really good at his job or is being President of the international division of the Kensington Royal Hotel chain just a cover for his work in the intelligence community? Even if he is informally a source for the CIA and State Department, the lines are definitely getting blurred and his boss is taking notice. I kind of like the idea of a spy being a hotel executive.

It was great to be able to pick up this book right after finishing Red Deception. And if you haven't picked up this series yet you are in for a treat as you can read books 1 - 3 back-to-back-to-back. 

If you are a fan of Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan series, particularly the early books in the series, then this is a must-read series. 

A lot of information is explained that is probably pretty applicable to the real world so not only are you being entertained you also get to learn something. The information is presented in a natural way and it doesn't feel like an info dump. 

I can't wait to read more about Dan Reilly saving the world.

The audiobook and ebook are available now but if you want a hardcover copy you will have to wait until February 2023.

Buy Red Chaos at Amazon


Donna Huber is an avid reader and natural encourager. She is the founder of Girl Who Reads and the author of how-to marketing book Secrets to a Successful Blog Tour



Enjoyed this post? Never miss out on future posts by following us. Get even more book news in your inbox, sign up for our newsletter today! Girl Who Reads is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small commission is earned when purchases are made at Amazon using any Amazon links on this site. Thank you for supporting Girl Who Reads.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Shareahollic