Readers' Favorite

May 2, 2021

A New Amish Romance Series

by Susan Roberts

New Amish Romance Series

I haven't read any Amish fiction in a few years but this new series looked very interesting.  Here are reviews of the first two books in the Honey Brook series by Ophelia London.

Amazon affiliate links are used on this site. Free books were provided for honest reviews.

Never an Amish Bride by Ophelia London

Never an Amish Bride
June 2020; Entangled; 978-1640639065
ebook, print (400 pages); romance
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania is the setting for this new series.  Book 1 features Esther Miller who considers herself on old-maid because she's still single at 24.  Her fiancĂ© Jacob had died several years earlier and she just wasn't ready to start courting again.  She has a growing business of making scented soaps in her home and selling them through an Amish retail store.  Lucas comes to town as a PA.  He is Jacob's brother but left the Amish years before.  The Amish tradition still calls to him and he still lives a very simple life despite his car and electronics.  When he meets Esther, he becomes very interested in her but he is hiding a secret about Jacob's death and he doesn't know if she or their church will forgive him.  

I enjoyed reading this book and I really like Esther and Lucas -- they were both strong in their religious views but both showed confusion on how to properly live their lives.  I thought that Esther was a very strong woman - she followed the Amish ways but was still very interested in having her own business.  Is it possible for two flawed people to be happy with each other and follow the Amish ways?

Buy Never an Amish Bride at Amazon

The Amish Cowboy’s Homecoming by Ophelia London

The AMish Cowboy's Homecoming
April 2021; Entangled; 978-1682815717
ebook, print (400 pages); romance
Book 2 of the Honey Brook series features Grace.  She has always been good at training horses and she grew up with her father teaching her.  Now that she's grown, she wants to inherit her father's horse farm but Amish women aren't normally business owners.  Her father hires Isaac, an Amish man from a nearby town to train a seemingly unable-to-be broken stallion.  Grace wants to do it on her own and is very resentful of Isaac when her father makes them a team to train the new horse.  As they work together, they become interested in each other...will they be able to overcome their differences and allow themselves to fall in love?

Grace was another strong woman in the Amish town that normally sees women as wives and mothers.  She is strong in her beliefs but feels that she has the God-given talent to train horses and wants the opportunity to continue.   Will Isaac accept having a strong woman or will he stick to the old-fashioned ideas?

NOTE:  All of the books in this series can be read as standalone.

Susan Roberts lives in North Carolina with her husband of over 50 years.  She grew up in Michigan but now calls North Carolina home. Since her travel plans had to be canceled for this year, she is starting to make plans for travel in 2021. She reads almost anything (and the piles of books in her house prove that) but her favorite genres are Southern fiction, women's fiction, and historical fiction. Susan is a top 1% Goodreads Reviewer. You can connect with Susan on FacebookGoodreads, or Twitter

Get even more book news in your inbox, sign up today! Girl Who Reads is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small commission is earned when purchases are made at Amazon using any Amazon links on this site. Thank you for supporting Girl Who Reads.