Readers' Favorite

October 28, 2023

Her Only Wish by Shelley Shepard Gray ~ A Review

by Susan Roberts

Her Only Wish
is book 2 in the Pinecraft series.  This book centers on Betsy's story but her two friends from Book 1 are also part of the story.  This book can be read as a standalone with no confusion.

Amazon affiliate links are used on this site. A free book was provided for an honest review.

book cover of Amish romance novel Her Only Wish by Shelley Shepard Gray
June 2023; Revell; 978-0800741686
audio, ebook, print (288 pages); Amish romance

Betsy has always been sheltered by her parents due to a medical issue.  She decides to take a month's vacation in Pinecraft, a town in Florida where Amish people go to vacation.  She has a list of things that  she wants to accomplish while she is there - she is eager try some activities that she's never been able to do.  First thing on her bucket list is to learn to play golf.  When she goes to the golf course, she meets August who runs the course for his aunt and uncle.  He usually doesn't give lessons but makes an exception for Betsy.  He's very impressed with her determination to try new things.  The other activities on her list are to learn to swim, learn to ride a bike and go fishing.  With August's help and the help of new friends, she starts new activities until it all comes to a halt when she's rushed to the hospital.  Betsy is surprised to add another unexpected thing to her list -- to fall in love.  The more time she spends with August, the more their relationship strengthens.  When her parents arrive with the plan to take her home after she is released from the hospital, she needs to make a decision whether to return to the sheltered life with her parents or to continue to stay in Florida with August.

This is a sweet book with interesting characters.  Betsy was a pretty brave woman to want to try all of the things that her illness had kept her from accomplishing.  This is a sweet Amish romance and a great summer read.

Note:  Her Only Wish is book 2 of a 3-part series.  Books do not have to be read in order.  

Read a review of Book 1 Her Heart's Desire.
Book 3 Her Secret Hope will publish in November, 2023

 Buy Her Only Wish at Amazon

Susan Roberts grew up in Michigan but loves the laid-back life at her home in the Piedmont area of North Carolina where she is two hours from the beach to the east and the mountains in the west.  She reads almost anything but her favorite genres are Southern Fiction and Historical Fiction.  You can connect with her on Facebook.

Enjoyed this post? Never miss out on future posts by following us. Get even more book news in your inbox, sign up for our newsletter today! Or Follow Girl Who Reads with Bloglovin. Girl Who Reads is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small commission is earned when purchases are made at Amazon using any Amazon links on this site. Thank you for supporting Girl Who Reads.


Post a Comment